Ohio, December 2017

White out! There was a lot of snow in northeast Ohio this year. While approaching the OH/PA border we got a frantic call from my brother who was in the area of Ashtabula, Ohio. Police were giving out tickets for driving due to the snow emergency. You weren’t allowed to drive at all! We were south of there, fortunately, and I didn’t have to make contingency plans for our route. In fact, there was no snow falling until later that day, and the roads were clear for us in Lake County. Later, I looked up the photos for Erie, PA, which had gotten almost six feet of snow that day. Wow! It has been a while since I have done that kind of driving so I was grateful. But I did tempt fate the next day when we went to Chapin Forest to go cross-country skiing. That’s when I got the photo above, as the snow raged during our 20-minute drive back. 

Chapin Forest has beautiful trails and a cozy ski rental shop.  We hadn’t been here for a few years due to lack of time and/or snow. It was wonderful to ski while thick snow fell. It was also wonderful to warm up by the outdoor and indoor fires.


Other than that, we just hung out with family and did some shopping and not much else. It snowed every day and then we returned to more snow and cold on the east coast. I love it! Here are some more pics from the snowy Ohio woods.

Leave a comment